UP & RUNNING, the shop that keeps Chester running.

The Chester Up & Running shop caters for all local runners and fitness enthusiasts. Chester is the 31st Up & Running in the family and we are excited as Chester is a wonderfully warm and inviting town. Call in for friendly and expert advice on running and fitness shoes, clothing, and accessories as well as video gait analysis and shoe fitting, information on local races and training.

 

 
 
How to find us!

 


25 Bridge Street Row,
Chester,
CH1 1NW

Parking!

Getting to Chester by car and parking is very easy. Click here for a map of Chester's car parks.

For SatNav users, point your device towards CH1 1EA to find the Grosvenor Shopping Centre - Newgate St. From there:

1. Head southwest on Pepper St/A5268 toward Bridge St
2. Turn right onto Bridge St

The Chester Up & Running shop caters for all local runners and fitness enthusiasts. Call in for friendly and expert advice on running and fitness shoes, clothing, and accessories; video gait analysis and shoe fitting, information on local races and training.

Parking is free after 3pm in most Chester car parks! (apart from NCP's)

Opening Hours!

Easter Opening Times

Mon-Fri  10.00am-5.30pm
Sat 9:30am-5.30pm
Sun 11:00am – 5:00pm

Contact us!

Telephone: 01244345812
Email: chester@upandrunning.co.uk

 
Meet our staff

Gill: Originally a dancer I started running 10 years ago with a 5k Race for Life. I've since done 10 full marathons and 2 Olympic distance triathlons. I also enjoy road cycling and have completed various events such as the Cheshire Cat sportive, Manchester 100 mile and C2C. I hold qualifications in exercise and fitness covering aspects of training and nutrition. Aspirations for the future include the Swiss Alpine Marathon and a half-iron man triathlon.

Laura: Having worked in the Fitness industry since leaving school; I have gained Level 3 Personal Trainer and Leadership in Running Fitness qualifications as well as recently graduating with a BSc Sport and Exercise Science degree. I am currently studying for a Masters degree in Sport Science specialising in Physiology (physiology geek!!) My favourite running distances are 10km and half marathon - with aspirations of completing a full marathon after Uni and I love Asics Kayano!!

Simon - Joined the company in May 2010 and, after a couple of years in the Liverpool store, came to manage the Chester store when it opened in August 2012. He loves a good run to keep his fitness up, normally running between 5k and 10k, but is hoping to do a half marathon or two in 2013.

 

 

 
Gait Analysis

 


It's important that your running shoes fit correctly: our trained staff can help find the right shoes for you: in a short session on our treadmill they can do a video gait analysis using sophisticated Dartfish software.

Find out more about gait analysis at UP & RUNNING.

NB if you would like to enjoy the full benefits of our gait analysis system and shoe-fitting service, please arrive at least half an hour before shop closing time.

Thanks!

Training Guide

 



Product Reviews

 


Coming Soon.

Local Races

 


SEPTEMBER 15th Gawsworth10k and 5k, jennybirtwhistle@hotmail.com, www.gawsworth.com

SEPTEMBER 15th Sutton six 10k Village hall, Guilden Sutton, Chester, entries@wcaccrr.co.uk, www.westcheshireac.co.uk

SEPTEMBER 15th Hoylake 10k, Hoylake Community centre, hoylakewsnc@btinternet.com, www.wsnc.co.uk

SEPTEMBER 15th Garstang half marathon, Garstang sports and social club, www.garstang.co.uk

SEPTEMBER 15th Lake Vyrnwy half marathon, Wales, janet@lakevyrnwyhalfmarathon.com

SEPTEMBER 29th, Delamere Forest, Cheshire, geoff.shaw@vlplc.com, www.deeside-orienteering-club.org.uk/sstrail

SEPTEMBER 29th Macclesfield half marathon/5k , Macc leisure centre, macclesfieldhalf@sky.com, macc-half.co.uk/macc-5k.co.uk

SEPTEMBER 29th Wirral seaside run, North Wirral country park, www.seasideruns.com

SEPTEMBER 29th Run Preston, Market st, Preston, j.anderton@preston.gov.uk, www.preston.gov.uk/events

SEPTEMBER 29th - Anglesey Trail Races - Half Marathon & 10k, Anglesey, North Wales - http://islandtrailrace.com/

SEPTEMBER 29th - Cheshire 10k, Arley Hall, Warrington - http://www.cheshire10k.com/event-entry-cheshire-10k/

SEPTEMBER 29th - Sandstone Trail Race, Duckington/Beeston Castle, Delamere Forest - http://www.deeside-orienteering-club.org.uk/sstrail/

OCTOBER 5th & 6th - Tough Mudder, Cholmondeley Estates, Malpas, Cheshire - http://toughmudder.co.uk/events/north-west-2013/

OCTOBER 6th - Congleton Half & Quarter Marathons, Congleton, Cheshire - http://www.congleton-harriers.co.uk/half

OCTOBER 6th - Oulton Park Autumn Duathlon, Oulton Park - http://www.xtramileevents.com/events/calendar/oulton-park-autumn-duathlon

OCTOBER 6th - MBNA Chester Marathon, Chester - http://www.activeleisureevents.co.uk/full-marathon.aspx

OCTOBER 6th - Resolution Run, Victoria Park, Warrington - http://www.stroke.org.uk/resolution

** OCTOBER 13th - Sandbach Super 6 10k, Sandbach, Cheshire - http://www.sandbachstriders.co.uk/ - supported by Up&Running **

OCTOBER 13th - Wirral Half Marathon & 10k, Wirral - http://www.btrliverpool.com/event/wirral-half/#enter-now

OCTOBER 27th - Halloween Hellraiser 9 Mile, Crewe Vagrants, Nantwich - http://www.southcheshireharriers.org.uk/clubraces/hellraiser/hell_main.php

OCTOBER 27th - Wirral Seaside Run - October Race, North Wirral Country Park, Wirral - www.seasideruns.com

NOVEMBER 2nd - Brooks HellRunner - Hell Up North, Delamere Forest, Cheshire - www.hellrunner.co.uk

NOVEMBER 2nd - Langley 7, Langley, Macclesfield, Cheshire - http://www.macclesfield-harriers.co.uk/index.php/road-running-mainmenu-27/langley-7

** NOVEMBER 3rd - Abergele 5, Abergele, North Wales - http://www.abergeleharriers.co.uk/ASH.htm - supported by Up & Running **

NOVEMBER 3rd - Crewe Deja Vu Track Marathon, Crewe - http://www.sandbachstriders.co.uk/p/our-races.html

NOVEMBER 3rd - Cheshire Half Marathon, Capesthorne Hall, Siddington, Cheshire - http://www.cheshirehalfmarathon.co.uk/

Local Running Clubs

 


Abergele Harriers - http://www.abergeleharriers.co.uk/
Boalloy Running Club
Bramhall Runners - www.bramhallrunners.co.uk
Buckley Runners - http://buckleyrunners.blogspot.co.uk/
Capenhurst Running Club - http://www.capenhurstrc.co.uk/
Cheshire Hash House Harriers - www.cheshirehash.co.uk
Cheshire Tally-Ho Hare & Hounds Club - http://www.cheshiretallyho.org.uk/
Chester Road Runners (RunEngland beginners running group)
City of Chester Triathlon - http://www.chestertri.org.uk/
Colwyn Bay AC - http://www.colwynbay.org.uk/
Congleton Harriers - www.congleton-harriers.co.uk
Crewe & Nantwich AC - www.creweandnantwichac.org.uk
Dash Athletics Club - www.dashathletics.co.uk
Deeside Amateur AC - http://www.deesideathleticclub.com/
DeeStriders RC - http://www.deestridersrunningclub.net/
Delamere Spartans - http://www.delamerespartans.org.uk/index.html
Denbigh Harriers - www.denbighharriers.com
Ellesmere Port RC - www.ellesmereportrunningclub.org.uk
Eryri Harriers - http://www.eryriharriers.org.uk/
Halton and Frodsham Harriers - http://www.hfh.org.uk/
Handforth Wilmslow Alderley AC - http://www.hwaac.typepad.co.uk/
Helsby Running Club - http://www.helsbyrunningclub.org.uk/
Lymm Runners - www.lymmrunners.org.uk
Macclesfield Harriers - www.macclesfield-harriers.co.uk
North Wales RRC - http://www.nwrrc.co.uk/
Prestatyn RC - http://www.prestatynrunningclub.com/
Razzer's Runners - http://www.razzersrunners.org.uk/default.aspx
Sandbach Striders - www.sandbachstriders.co.uk
South Cheshire Harriers - www.southcheshireharriers.org.uk/
Spectrum Striders - http://www.spectrumstriders.org.uk
Styal Running Club - www.styalrunningclub.co.uk
Tattenhall Runners - www.tattenhallrunners.com
Vale Royal AC - http://www.valeroyalathleticclub.co.uk/
West Cheshire Athletics Club - http://www.westcheshireac.co.uk/
Wilmslow Running Club - www.wilmslowrunningclub.org.uk
Wirral & Chester Hash House Harriers - http://www.wch3.co.uk/
Wrecsam Tri - http://www.wrecsamtri.org.uk/
Wrexham Amateur AC - http://wrexhamac.athletics-track.com/
Wrexham AC Road Runners - http://wrexhamroadrunners.org.uk/
More Local Info for Runners

 


Bodywork Pilates - Victoria Road, Chester - 01244 377778 - http://www.bodywork-pilates.co.uk
Energie Fitness For Women - Brookdale Place, Chester - 01244 405223
LA Fitness - Wrexham Road, Chester - 0843 1701055
Lifestyle Fitness - Deeside College, Flintshire - 01244 836060 - http://www.lifestylefitness.co.uk/
Mill Hotel & Spa - Milton Street, Chester - 01244 350035 - http://www.millhotel.com/health-fitness-club
Old Hall Country Club & Spa - Aldford Road, Chester - 01244 311593
Seb Coe Health Club - Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, Whitchurch Road, Christleton - 0844 815 9001
Spirit Health Club - Holiday Inn Chester South, Wrexham Road, Chester - 01244 683918
The Club & Spa - Warrington Road, Chester - 01244 408840 - www.theclubandspachester.co.uk
Total Fitness - Liverpool Road, Chester - 01244 393000 - http://www.totalfitness.co.uk/health-club/chester/
Village De Vere Chester St. Davids - St David's Park, Ewloe, Flintshire - 0871 222 4716 - http://www.village-hotels.co.uk/hotels/chester-st-davids/health

Delamere Outdoor Fitness beginners running group - 5k in 6 weeks http://delamereoutdoorfitness.co.uk



S3 Fitness Chester TRX - TRX Suspension Fitness Training Centre. Professional coaching - Have fun while you workout! - www.s3fitness.co.uk - 01244 424 103 - info@s3fitness.co.uk

LADYZONE 01244 372717 CH1 3EQ
LA FITNESS 0843 1701055 CH4 7QP
TOTAL FITNESS 01244 393000 CH2 1AQ
NORTHGATE ARENA LEISURE CENTRE 01244 380444 CH2 2AU
BODY TECH 01244 671212
ENERGIE 01244 405223 CH1 3DY